To view a more accessible version of this website press control m
Research & Scholarship

Musings about Rubrics

Wednesday, February 8th, 2017

Recently, I have increasingly heard, and used, the word rubric, and have been thinking about use of rubrics in collection development. As I started writing this blog post, I realized I wasn’t sure exactly what rubric meant, so I took a quick look in the Oxford English Dictionary and found, to my surprise, that rubric […]

The Expanded ATLA Database

Tuesday, April 5th, 2016

Studying Gnosticism? Trying to learn about the scholarship of Rudolph Bultmann? Researching the influence of religion on global affairs? These are only some of the kinds of topics you can search in the Libraries’ ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials. Syracuse University Libraries holdings in Religion include access to the important ATLA Database. Compiled by […]

Public Domain Databases from the U.S. Government

Thursday, January 7th, 2016

As we claw our way through mountains of digital databases available to us, we need to briefly pause to consider what free public domain database are available. I want to mention, not just the numerous databases available from the SU Libraries database menu, but highlight the other available databases that are products of the United […]

Resources and Databases in GPO MetaLib

Thursday, January 7th, 2016

Access to Archival Databases (AAD) System – NARA AGRICOLA Articles (NAL) AGRICOLA Books Air Force Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room Archival Research Catalog (ARC) of the National Archives Army Heritage Collection Online (AHCO) Digital Document System Army Heritage Collection Online (AHCO) Research Catalog AUL Index to Military Periodicals CancerLit Catalog of U.S. Government […]

Getting Ahead of the Game: Using Online Library Resources to Orient Incoming Students

Tuesday, July 28th, 2015

The lyrics of the Chuck Berry song “School Days” remind us that fall is upon us: Up in the mornin’ and out to school The teacher is teachin’ the Golden Rule American history and practical math With fall, begins another academic year. While the words of the Chuck Berry song may not remind you much […]

The Ideal World

Friday, May 29th, 2015

Librarians at SU Libraries regularly learn about new electronic resources (databases, ejournals, streaming videos, ebooks, etc.) and decide whether to consider them as possible additions to SU Libraries’ collections. What are we looking for as we do this? In the ideal world, we are seeking e-resources that offer: high quality content that is a good […]

Re: Search

Thursday, July 3rd, 2014

As numerous Syracuse University (SU) Libraries users and blog readers know there are many specialized databases covering core published literature in a field, including journal articles, trade publications, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. And, increasingly, blog posts, papers, websites, and non-traditional publications are available as well. In addition to these specialized, often subject-specific, resources, […]

New Collections and Resources Round-Up

Thursday, June 19th, 2014

During the 2013/2014 academic year, the Libraries acquired a range of new resources to support the research, teaching, and learning of our Syracuse University faculty and students. The following new collections and resources round-up highlights a selection of these new acquisitions, which broadly support the pursuit of interdisciplinary, humanities, social sciences, and sciences and technology […]